(Im)patient

I’m impatient. I’m well aware of this, as is anyone who has ever stood behind me in a long line.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not a rude, impatient person. I’m a perfectly pleasant impatient person. As a longtime customer service employee at a major discount store I was tasked with helping tons of unpleasant impatient folks everyday. So I know firsthand it’s important to keep the impatience inside. Angering the person who will eventually help you is never a good idea. If you think it is, you’re probably still waiting in a line somewhere.

Unfortunately, I’m not very good at keeping the impatience inside. Even as my face keeps on smiling, the impatience will start to make itself known in the form of fidgeting.

Whether I’m waiting in the line at a a fast food joint or waiting for the pot to boil in the kitchen I will  start dancing around.

It will start innocently enough  with a foot tap or a finger snap. But the longer I have to wait the more complicated the fidgeting becomes. Thankfully I’ve never had to wait long enough to force me to perform a lopsided, one-person tango or anything, but I’m not ruling that out.

Anyway, my dancing isn’t the point. The point is I’m an instant-gratification junkie.

The other day I realized I was too impatient for my microwave. I was hungry. I was starving. It seemed as though if I didn’t eat something soon I’d surely pass out on my kitchen floor and not be found until hours later when my husband came in there foraging for food.

The future looked dim if I did not get those leftovers warmed up soon. Those two minutes seemed to drag on for eternity as I completely ignored all of my mother’s advice and stared right into the microwave longingly. I did however, resist the urge to press me face up against the door. This I counted as a personal victory over my mind-numbing hunger.

Eventually, what seemed like lifetimes later, the timer dinged and my food was hot and ready. At that point I glanced over at the oven and marveled that someone could actually wait long enough for that old thing to warm things up. That would simply be torture.

After eating my now blissfully warm food, I was less delirious and smart enough to realize I should be patient enough to wait for the microwave.

To be honest though I don’t think the impatience thing is entirely my fault. Every day so many things in my life seem to require immediate action. The ads on my computer screen tell me to “Act Now,” Buy Now,” etc. ad nauseam until it all gets to be a little overwhelming.

Then there’s technology to blame, because well, I’m apparently blaming everyone but myself. Anyway, I can’t help but expect instant results when in so much of today’s world that’s what you get. Twenty-four news sites, instant messaging, emails, etc. have credited a culture where you largely don’t have to wait. Until you do.

Then we’re all impatient idiots, myself and my short attention span included.

Speaking of which, let’s be honest here, this is getting entirely too long for me to pay attention to writing…

2 thoughts on “(Im)patient

  1. I feel that under the technology section you should have at least mentioned smart phones. Those things are Satan incarnate. You can’t even converse civilly with someone that has one of those things. Every two seconds they have to check their email, text, facebook or some other random “social” networking that takes the place of face to face human interaction.

    The smartphone is a social life in the palm of your hand. Where the world was once the playground of man it is now cyberspace. Not as green, the air isn’t as fresh and the lcd screens can’t be good for your eyes but nonetheless this is where we now stand.

Comments are closed.