This Is All Harriet’s Fault

I’m nosy.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that before.

But if you were as nosy as I am, I wouldn’t even need to mention it. You would just already know.

Because you’d be a busy body like that. (Like me.)

I’m such a busy body. I take nosy to new and enterprising heights.

It’s not like I’m digging through people’s trash or reading their emails or something. Both of those things are gross. And not even I am that gross.

I’m just nosy because I’m immensely interested in people and how we choose to treat each other. I find it fascinating, and by fascinating, I mean weird and confusing.

We’re all so damned weird and confusing. The older I get, the more and more confused I get by the way we behave. We’re just so damned odd.

And, just to be clear, we’re all weird, confusing and odd. It’s not just a woman thing. It was never just a woman thing.

I’m tired of hearing people say that woman are so “confusing” or so “crazy.” Not all women are “confusing” and not all women are “crazy.” Sure, some are — because as a whole, people are confusing and yes, some people behave in ways others might deem “crazy.”

But calling out a whole gender as irrational (and by extension, somehow lesser) is just, well, crazy.

And it’s also bullshit.

Because if you pay attention to human behavior like I do (which you probably don’t because you’re probably not as nosy as I am and you, unlike me, probably have better things to do) you’d notice that everyone does odd things occasionally.

Everyone misspeaks. Everyone says one thing and does another every once and awhile. Everyone is occasionally fickle or indecisive or just a bit off. Everyone screws up sometimes.

That’s a human thing. Not a woman thing.

Trust me, I know. I’ve been an overly-nosy observer of human interactions for years. I’ve spent much more time than I should have analyzing and over-thinking other people’s behavior. And believe me, if my extensive study of the human condition has taught me anything, it’s that none of us make a whole heck of a lot of sense.

Like me for example, why in the world am I so nosy? What’s up with that?

And no…it’s not a woman thing.

Though if you really wanted to pin it on something, you could probably blame it on the seminal nosy-girl heroine Harriet the Spy.

And yes, I know she was a girl, but two nosy little jerks does not a nosy gender make. It just makes two nosy little jerks.

Just like how one “crazy” girl does not a “crazy” gender make. It just makes one individual person you really don’t understand.

There’s a difference.

And you don’t even have to be nosy to see it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “This Is All Harriet’s Fault

Comments are closed.