I Just Can’t Get Enough of the Cheesy Stuff

I like to think of myself as a self-possessed individual with deeply-held beliefs which cannot be easily swayed by or for other people.

That’s probably total crap though, because if Jillian Michaels had a cult, I’d sign up immediately and gladly stop thinking for myself at all.

I’d just let her handle all my thinking for me. She seems better equipped for the job. She has way more gumption, stamina and wisdom than I do.

Based on my frequent viewings of her workout DVDs, I’ve concluded that Jill-Jill (and yeah, I just decided to call her that) is the perfect spiritual guru for me.

It turns out I’m the most receptive to constructive, self-help advice when I’m partially delirious after a round of burpees. That’s my philosophical sweet zone. That’s when I’m too tired to talk over people so I’m forced to actually listen to what they are saying and learn from it.

This is when I’m the most open to advice, even if that advice is being doled out by a sweaty woman on my television screen who then yells at me to do more lunges.

Or it could be that I’m just naturally more responsive to people who are just reaffirming what I already believe.

It turns out I believe almost all of the stuff personal trainers spout when they are forcing you to do more sit-ups. Incidentally, these are the exact same messages that are repeated ad nauseam on motivational fitness boards on Pinterest.

Yup, I’m a complete sucker for that stuff that most people would just roll their eyes at. I gobble that stuff up. I can’t get enough of it. I’m all in, baby.

I wholeheartedly (without the slightest trace of irony) believe:
• You can do most things you put your mind to if you can just force yourself to try (Obviously, there are parameters to this, I’m probably not going to win the lottery just because I really, really want to. Duh.)
• It’s important to make time for yourself because when you feel better and healthier, you can take better care of those around you.
• It’s important to push your limits and make yourself uncomfortable every once awhile because that’s how you learn and grow.
• It’s important to take time to acknowledge and appreciate your accomplishments or as Jillian says (for real, she actually says this in one of the workout DVDs) “give yourself mad props.”

Yeah, sure, some (okay, all) of this advice is clichéd and super cheesy but it’s good advice nonetheless.

It’s also significantly more impressive when you hear it while doing side planks or something. So ideally you should have been working out the whole time you were reading this. If you weren’t, you totally blew it. It’s no longer my fault if this advice doesn’t stick.

And, if about now you’re thinking something like “If you’re such a Jillian Michaels devotee, why don’t you look more like Jillian Michaels?” I have an explanation for that.

I do love Jillian Michaels. But I also love nachos. So many nachos.

I told you, I’m a sucker for the cheesy stuff.

