5 Things That Don’t Suck or How to Combat Rain, Assholes and Assorted Bullshit

I’ve been kind of a Negative Nelly lately – a real Debbie Downer.

Thanks to some long-term (or in my opinion, long-term), annoying but not super serious health problems, I’ve been feeling a bit bummed out lately.By lately, I mean this year and most of the last one.

Sorry, I know I’m doing that thing where people bring up vague health problems on social media but then don’t fully explain them. A lot of times when this happens it seems like people are doing this because they actually want you to ask and are just being all cagey to be mysterious.

I’m not doing that.  I’m about as far from mysterious as you can get. I’m more of a “Hey everyone, here are my unfiltered thoughts” kind of person. I wouldn’t know how to be cagey and mysterious if I tried. And I’m not trying to now.

I’m just bringing up the health problems so I can put this blog post in context. So I can explain where I’m coming from.

Where I’m coming from is just this side of depressed. Actually, screw it, I’ll just say it, I’m kind of depressed.

It’s been a long year and I’m tired and every once and awhile I get really fed up with my situation.

But the thing is – at one point or another, we all do. At one point or another we all go through something that really brings us down.

I think it’s best explained by a quote my favorite author Jenny Lawson, attributes to her grandmother in my favorite book, Furiously Happy.

“Into everyone’s life a little rain must fall – rain, assholes, and assorted bullshit.”

Jenny admits she’s paraphrasing her grandma there but either way, Jenny and/or her wise granny make a great point.

We’ve all got our rain, assholes and assorted bullshit.

So, if you’re dealing with some rain, assholes or assorted bullshit now, you’re not alone. I am too and here are five things that have helped me through it.

Or, 5 Things That Don’t Suck

  1. The book Furiously Happy (which I already mentioned is by Jenny Lawson). In it, Lawson talks about her lifelong battle with mental illness and a host of other disorders and diseases that would bring any other mere mortal crashing to their knees in fits of despair. Instead, Lawson uses all of it to write a refreshingly honest book that is also somehow laugh-out-loud funny. (And I’m not just saying that. I really did laugh out loud. A lot.It was sort of weird.) Lawson is my hero and if you read it, she’ll probably be yours too. Or at the very least you’ll want to attend her midnight cat rodeos – trust me, that would have totally made sense if you read the book.
  2. Dogs. Dogs are the best. This is a fact. Okay, so it’s not a fact but they’re pretty damn great. Here’s a picture of my dog sleeping while simultaneously being adorable so I can prove to you how great dogs are. If you don’t have a dog, feel free to bask in the awesomeness that is my dog for a moment. She’s the freaking best, right? Dog
  3. Therapy. There’s nothing wrong with talking to a therapist. That’s why they’re there. That’s their job. Going to a therapist doesn’t make you weak. It doesn’t make you crazy. It just means you weren’t feeling your best and you took a logical, healthy step to address and improve that situation. You shouldn’t feel bad about this just as you wouldn’t feel bad about going to a doctor for any other health problem. I kind of wrote a whole blog about this, but it’s worth repeating anyway.
  4. The show Moone Boy.It’s about an awkwardly adorable (awkdorable – can we make that a word?) boy in Ireland in the late 80s/early 90s and the adventures he has with his imaginary best friend, Sean Murphy, played by Chris O’Dowd (the cop from Bridesmaids). It’s on Hulu. It’s so cute it’s almost unbearable and it’s going to blow your mind. You’re welcome.
  5. You. You don’t suck. If you read this whole blog post, I think you’re pretty great and I officially will not count you on my “rain, assholes and assorted bullshit” list.

Thanks for not being an asshole, for that, I hope that you can handle all the rain, assholes and assorted bullshit that comes your way. And if you do have any trouble with it, I hope this list helps.

If you need me, I’ll be watching Moone Boy for the hundredth millionth time.

It just doesn’t get old, much like reading the book Furiously Happy.

Which I also believe I’ve mentioned, but you know, it’s worth repeating.

